Moving Monday::Stuff Left Behind, A Wedding, A Puppy & A Shower…

by heatherkp

Yesterday we returned from a whirlwind 11 day trip back up to our former hometown to visit family and friends.  The trip included a wedding, a bridal shower (for my future SIL), trips to museums in DC, several parties (one on our behalf~Thanks!), family time, meeting my new family puppy (Katinka who we fell in LOVE with), my best friends 40th birthday (I’m not too far behind!), two client appointments and packing up our remaining “stuff”.  We “moved” 5 1/2 months ago now and have had this trip planned since.  I was asked to photograph a cousin’s wedding last week, which was really perfect timing for us to make this return trip.

Congratulations Matt and Chenoa!

Congratulations Matt and Chenoa!

My future SIL being playful!

My Puppy Sister, Katinka (A Coton de Tulear)

When we left MD last November we had to leave behind quite a few things at the last minute.  It wasn’t that we didn’t plan well, it wasn’t that we ran out of time but we didn’t have the space we anticipated in the truck we rented so we had to improvise.  Thanks to family and a couple friends we stowed away some treasures in MD during this time.  We had to leave behind a beloved model ship and dollhouse my grandfather built, our big TV, my Herman Miller Aeron chair, the rocking chair my brother and I were rocked in, many-many plants and quite a few garden tools.  We had to rent another U haul trailer to bring it all back but we did it!  It feels so great to know that we are here with all our stuff.  It also felt great to decide to leave a few items behind.  After living with everything in storage for so long I am so much more detached from our things.

The next exciting phase of our move will take us from our family’s place in Pawleys Island to downtown Charleston.  Later this week we will make that transition, one that will give us the much needed perfect space and timing to really know the place we are going to be living before we make big commitments.  It’s been challenging living like a gypsy but in the end I think this will help us have better area knowledge so we make a wise decision about where we will live next.  In the past we have made decisions about where we were going to live after only brief visits and in a few of those cases we felt stuck with something less than fantastic but that’s not gonna happen this time.  It may be another couple months before we finally have a home we can call our own but it’s going to be worth it in the end and I’ve learned a lot about flexibility and a certain sense of freedom that comes from living in limbo!

Leave a comment