Moving Monday::Packing, Lists and Inventory

by heatherkp

Another week into the moving progress and we’ve got over 24 boxes packed!  We did a little calculation and determined that if we pack 4 boxes a day on average (6 days a week) then we will have over 90 boxes packed in the next few weeks.  When we moved here 6 years ago we had over 90 boxes, my goal is to have less this time!  I prefer to pack a little bit at a time rather than try to cram it all into the last week or so.  This week I’ll be packing linens, china, un necessary kitchen items, more nick nacks and some clothing.

Here’s how I’m doing this::each box gets numbered and assigned a code according to size (A, B, C) then I list a short inventory of the contents making special note of valuable (sentimental or monetary) items.  This way I’ve got a very good idea of what’s in each box, where it goes and this inventory can serve insurance purposes if needed.

Now for the exciting news, fingers crossed we very well might have someone to rent our house!!  We will know for sure soon but it looks promising and this will allow us to determine our exact date of departure.  I’ve been secretly hoping for a specific date and it seems like things might just be pointing in that direction.  We’ll keep you posted.

In the meantime I’ve had some big non-moving related events happening!  This past weekend my brother and sister in law came down from NY (to help and attend) for my parents belated 40th wedding anniversary celebration.  The party also happened to fall on my husband and I’s 7th anniversary.  It was a beautiful setting in my parents Japanese garden, the weather was perfect and we had a blast!  It was a great occasion to spend time with family and friends especially in light of our pending departure.

My next mission is this coming Saturday, I’m photographing my first wedding!  I’ve got a few nerves about this but I think it will be fine, I’m up for the challenge.

2 Trackbacks to “Moving Monday::Packing, Lists and Inventory”

Leave a Reply

