Moving Monday::Where to Begin with Packing

by heatherkp

Okay, it’s time for my weekly check in on our moving progress.  I’m excited to share that the house is on the market and has shown a few times.  It’s got to be kept spic and span which is a challenge in this state of affairs but it’s kind of nice!  I’m enjoying having things looking neat and clean for our last amount of time here.

A few more items have made their way onto Craigslist and the flea market is behind us now.  It was a wash out but we made a little money before it started pouring and the remaining non valuables went directly to donation.  So, what’s the next step?  Packing of course!  When it comes to packing I wanted to share a little of my strategy. I have a list week by week of what I will be packing by category.  I’m sure there will be a little overlap but it’s a plan and it creates weekly goals for our packing which will help keep us on track and feeling less overwhelmed.

  • Pictures and artwork, especially personal photo’s (those came down before we started to show the house).  Next, all the small artwork come off the walls.  I pack smaller photo’s and artwork in medium size boxes with newsprint wrapped around each and bubble wrap or cardboard between them.
  • Small decorative non function items. Otherwise known as Nicknacks:)
  • Formal china, stemware, crystal and serving pieces.  I’m not planning to do any formal entertaining before we leave so these things won’t be needed.  We don’t have a lot of it but what there is will go in boxes this week.
  • Any books I know I won’t be referring to.

By next week it will begin looking a bit more bare around here.  This is the part I don’t like very much but I’m hoping to embrace the empty space and enjoy the simplicity of living with less.

3 Trackbacks to “Moving Monday::Where to Begin with Packing”

Leave a Reply

