Wednesday Wellness:: PowerBalls

by heatherkp

I think I tweeted about this last week and now I’m finally getting around to posting the recipe!

In my quest to eat almost Gluten Free I have been experimenting with recipe creations.  I love almost all the flavors of Lara Bars and a friend of mine shared a recipe creation she made in her quest to recreate something similar.  I decided to give it a go and have made a couple variations on this.  I call them Power Balls because I don’t make them into bars, just small little nibble sized bites.  Here you go, please experiment and let me know what you think!

Power Balls

10 Dates, pitted

2 Tbsp protein powder (I used vanilla flavored Spiru-Tein)

6 Brazil nuts (or similar quantity of other nuts- pistachios, walnuts, pecans, cashews or almonds)

6 Figs (dried)

6 Apricots (dried)

2 Tbsp dried shredded coconut

1 tsp flaxseed oil

1 Tbsp flaxseeds (optional)

1 Tbs Almond meal (or oatmeal would work)

Combine all ingredients in bowl of a food processor and process by pulsing until mixture begins to hold together.  The motor will warm the ingredients up and it should be soft enough to form a ball.  Taste and adjust proportions of wet to dry as needed.  Using a cookie or small ice scream scoop, scoop out individual balls and place in small paper cups or on a flat layer to store (at room temperature for 1-2 weeks or in the refrigerator).

The great thing about this recipe is that there are endless variations!  In my last batch I used dried apples instead of the apricots and added a little cinnamon.  You can also make them chocolate flavored by eliminating the apricots and adding some cocoa powder, you will need more dates in this case.  These make a great healthy snack and are full of powerful antioxidants and super foods (nuts, flax etc.)  Enjoy and be Powerful!

Leave a Reply

