Texture Tuesday & Homework Link Up

by heatherkp

We are officially in the dog days of summer and I’m playing along again this week with Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday.  To me this image represents the epitome of summer skies, blue and bright with the golden rays of the sun shining.

I’ve been feeling a little down for the past few days and spent some time in the sun swimming some laps today.  Gliding through the water and gazing up at the sun really recharged my batteries.  I grew up swimming, born in the Philippines I swam before I walked (like almost literally!) and I was on the swim team year round until High school.  I don’t swim laps as much now but today as I was doing so I realized that I need to push myself to get back to this free and fantastic form of exercise.  Something about being in the pool, swimming and enjoying the sun brings back my youthful energy!

My indoor projects have been quite varied over the past couple weeks.  Tomorrow I’ll fill you in with a few behind the scenes bits of info about things I’ve been doing lately (and a little bit on how to organizing for being away on vacation) but today I’m going to leave you with a little homework project I began for my upcoming trip to Penland at the end of next week!   My instructor, Jason Pollen, gave each of the students an assignment to come up with several (or more) 8″ x 8″ collages using paper, paint, doodles, fabric, whatever we want.  He only asked that we keep them simple and try to resist our natural draw to certain color combinations.  Freedom is what’s being encouraged!

As I’m sharing these here I’m also taking part in the Homework Inspiration Board Link Up for the first time.  Check out what some of the other participants are making.

I’ve created 5 so far and I’m going to shoot for about 5 more before I leave.  It’s been a great way for me to build up anticipation for this class.

This last one I made today.  I was inspired by some origami and a piece of fabric I had from a quilt my mom started for me when I was little.  It never got finished so it’s kind of ironic that I am playing around with quilting with it now because I do NOT quilt!  The blocks just happened to be 8″ x 8″ so they naturally made their way into this project. I think I like how the back came out just as well as the front.

I can’t wait to go to Art camp, can you tell I’m excited?

Leave a Reply

