Wednesday Wellness::Kindness Counts!

by heatherkp

PS...Bonus Be KIND, and I mean to everyone (yeah, I’m still working on this one so that’s why it didn’t make it to this years list…maybe it will by next year!).

Kindness is in our power, even when fondness is not. -Samuel Johnson


There is no need for temples, no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness. -Dalai Lama

Kindness is loving people more than they deserve.-Joseph Joubert

When we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.– Dalai Lama

No kind action ever stops with itself. One kind action leads to another. Good example is followed. A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees. The greatest work that kindness does to others is that it makes them kind themselves. – Amelia Earhart

Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love.– Lao Tzu

The point is not to pay back kindness but to pass it on.– Julia Alvarez

You’ve probably noticed that I love quotes, I collect them and I found so  many great quotes directly relating to KINDNESS.  Makes you wonder what so many great writers, philosophers and spiritual leaders know, it must be something important this thing called kindness.

Many a movie and catch phrase have been coined around the idea that Kindness counts, and Paying It Forward and I think people sometimes become jaded and just think these phrases are cliche.  Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about kindness and happiness and what they really mean to the world.  Perhaps there are those out there that feel pursuing happiness or random acts of kindness don’t really mean anything or make any difference to the greater world.

How SAD is that?  Haven’t you ever had a really crappy day and someone just gave you the most genuine smile, held a door for you or gave you a small compliment that really changed your attitude (for a moment or even for the rest of the day)?  I think we’ve all experienced the power of kindness to uplift us and make us feel happier.

Kindness towards others should be secondary only to Self-Kindness. Lately, I’ve been practicing the art of boredom and this is an act of self kindness for me because I don’t usually allow myself time to “be lazy” or JUST BE.  Being honest and facing our own fears can be an act of the highest kindness towards ourselves.  I love what Brooke says about how kindness effects our daily relationships.  Acts of self kindness directly impact our wellness and once we begin by being kind to ourselves other acts of kindness will follow.  I hope you will consider how your kind actions effects your overall wellness.

What was the last random act of kindness you did for yourself?

Kindness is not without its rocks ahead. People are apt to put it down to an easy temper and seldom recognize it as the secret striving of a generous nature; whilst, on the other hand, the ill-natured get credit for all the evil they refrain from. Honore De Balzac

Okay, so now that we are on week 12 of my Wednesday Wellness posts I’m thinking I will be extending this feature.  I’ve really enjoyed it and it’s got me thinking of all the ways we can each bring wellness into our lives.  I’ve got lots more ideas up my sleeve so I’ll be sharing additional wellness tips from time to time but not weekly.  I do hope you’ve enjoyed this feature too!

One Trackback to “Wednesday Wellness::Kindness Counts!”

Leave a Reply

