Motif Monday::Tiles and Doors

by heatherkp

This Monday and next I will share with you a few details I caught in photo’s that are great inspiration for pattern motifs or other artwork.  Everywhere I looked in Provence I found small details, key holes, letter boxes, decorative tiles, ironwork and even decorative door knobs that remain an inspiration for me.  Because there is so much history and the architecture is so much older than most of what we have in America there was inspiration on almost every building.

French Tile patternsFrench Doors and ironworks

It was a pleasure to see such a broad range of period styles from medieval to art deco and more simple country provincial decorative details.  I love that these details are cherished and taken care of rather than replaced.  As we walked and toured each town I was always the last one straggling behind trying to capture these details and burn them into my memory.

2 Trackbacks to “Motif Monday::Tiles and Doors”

Leave a Reply

