Textile Tuesday::Provencal

by heatherkp

While I was in Provence of course I was keeping my eyes open for Textiles.  I love the way the French incorporate their more traditional textiles into their contemporary lifestyle.There were lacy curtains in almost all the residential home windows.  Don’t you just love this cap?  I didn’t see anyone wearing them but I wonder if anyone still does.  This cap was just hanging on an exterior door knob.

I’m always amazed with the laundry hanging in most foreign countries.  I personally hang most of my laundry but it France, Italy and many other countries there are apparatus built into daily lifestyle to make it easier to just hang laundry right out your windows, Love that!

There seems to be a huge market for the more traditional Provencal textiles with embroidery and traditional motifs.  I wonder if it’s strictly a tourist market or if the local’s use these in their every day life.

This little fabric bucket is adorable, love the way they incorporate subtle hearts into so many of their textiles.

This window just caught my eye probably because of the layers of the sheer fabric and the lovely blue iron grates over top.

This last photo is from Marseilles and the knot work on this ship rope is just truly impressive!

Do you like traditional French Provencal Textiles such as linens, lace, embroidery and traditional French Provencal motifs?

5 Responses to “Textile Tuesday::Provencal”

  1. Lovely photos. I especially like cap on the door knob. Let’s go back!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

