Techinique Tuesday::Folds and Pleats

by heatherkp

I’ve been quite obsessed lately with folding and pleating.  Through my research I’ve been so inspired by some of the creations I’ve come across in both fabric and paper (as well as other materials).

Folds and Pleats on Pinterest

Once again I’ve put together a collection of folded and pleated images that inspire me over at Pinterest (I LOVE that site!).  Click on the image to take you to the sources.  On Saturday I decided I would sit down and learn how to fold an Oragami Crane.  This is one of those things that’s been on my creative To-Do-Learn list for years.  I folded 7 cranes to start with (somewhere I heard that if you repeat something 7 times it sticks).By the end of the day I had it memorized and was able to demonstrate it for my family while we were at dinner waiting for our food to arrive.  I gave this crane to my mom who promptly turned it into some other unique form of bird by manipulating it a bit more, gee, wonder where I get my creativity from?

Here are a few other creations I’ve been playing with in both fabric (and ribbon) and paper that use techniques of folding and pleating to transform a two dimensional surface into a three dimensional form.  I wasn’t very good at math or geometry in school but if it had been taught to me via creative devices such as paper folding I think I might have been a lot more interested!This textile Aris cabinet designed by Moritz Schmid for Swiss manufacturer, Pfister captured me!  I’d love to incorporate more textiles into my home by perhaps collaborating one day with my husband since he loves wood working!

Have you ever tried oragami or using folds and pleats in your art or design work?

9 Comments to “Techinique Tuesday::Folds and Pleats”

  1. Hi, found your site through Inklore. Love it! I just finished a series where I used folded/pleated fabric and loved it. Do you have the book The Art of Manipulating Fabric? If not, you must check it out. A veritable bible! Have fun!

  2. I need those flowers for my wedding!!! Great post. Thanks.

  3. Thank you for linking to all these folding tutorials! Especially the cranes! Diane can make them but i still haven’t taken time to learn although it is on my goal list for this year!

    YOUR cranes are beautiful! And inspiring!

    Am bookmarking this post – a great resource to return to.

    • Thank you Pam, ya know it was just one of those things I’ve been meaning to get around to and finally did. It’s kicked me into paper folding madness! You are so kind and I’m glad you found all the links and inspiration helpful, that’s was my hope!

Leave a Reply

