Wednesday::The Wellness Journal

by heatherkp

via biffybeans.com

For the first Wednesday Wellness entry I am including the practice of Journaling.  I started this practice “religiously” a few years ago when I began reading The Artist Way

via ohhellofriendlyblog.com

“Morning pages” as Julia calls them, have been a useful tool for me each morning.  Basically I do a brain dump and get all the ideas, burdens, to-do’s, want-to-do’s out of my head and onto paper.  Julia encourages stream of conscious writing and I find that I’m not always in the right mindset to write this way but regardless it’s helpful to me.

I begin each day writing as many things as I can think of to be grateful for.  This usually fills up 1/2-1 page of my journal entry.  Some days it’s more difficult than others to find things to be grateful for but the act of acknowledging what I am grateful for helps lift my spirits as I begin the day.

via thecreativeplace.blogspot.com

Some people do their journal entries on their computers and I think this idea would be much more eco friendly but I’m not sure I would ever be able to express myself the same way I can with pen and paper.  I think part of what I love about journaling is finding beautiful journals to write in.

via spartan-shop.com

I also love writing by hand {although I hate my handwriting!} and love finding a fun pen.  In fact I usually write in a different color each day to make it more easy to identify each day’s entry and the colors sometimes reflect my mood.  I’ve included other ideas in my journal entries such as doing a small sketch each day or writing affirmations.

via anthropologie.com

What do you think?  Do you journal and if so do you include drawings, affirmations, gratitude or any other regular routines in your practice?  Do you use pen and paper or do you journal on your computer?  I hope you enjoyed the journal images I’ve shared here and there are so many more out there.  Right here is a great journal roundup/review!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

