Releasing your Dreams~(making way for new dreams)

by heatherkp

I was having a conversation with a friend recently and we were talking about my goals for my new business.  I had one of those moments of clarity!  I thought about what my dreams for my business had always been (since graduating from Savannah College of Art and Design) but I realized that my old dream didn’t exactly align with what it is that I am doing and want to be doing now.

Wow, okay this is probably something that lots of us have experienced from time to time throughout our lives but in this moment I was able to see that it’s okay to release those old dreams and expectations we put upon ourselves.  In fact, we have to do this in order to make room for new dreams.  I’m all for de-cluttering and getting rid of things in my life that don’t serve me anymore but thoughts, expectations and dreams need to be treated in the same manner as actual, physical things!

It can be kind of sad to release your old dreams but please realize that those dreams have served you well.  They have motivated you, given you something to strive towards and they have helped shape the direction of your new dreams.

So today I invite you to release those old dreams that no longer serve you.  Go ahead, write them down, seal them in an envelope and send them off!

3 Comments to “Releasing your Dreams~(making way for new dreams)”

  1. Wonderful. This resonated with me, especially since my word for 2011 is release. Thanks for your nice comment on my blog too!

Leave a Reply

