Take Out Tuesday: Snow Globe Holiday Cards

by heatherkp

In today’s take out I’m sharing a behind the scene of my holiday cards this year.  Every other year I make all my cards, usually between 50-75 handmade cards so I try to keep it pretty simple.  I had the idea of making snow globes and here are 3 photo’s that illustrate how simple this project really is!  There are a lot of variations on this idea that would work so enjoy and make it your own.

What’s a snow globe without a snowman?  I didn’t have a snowman stamp and I didn’t feel like cutting out any more circles so I carved a quick snowman rubber stamp.  I keep a few blank rubber stamp bases around to use for these sort of projects.  The other tools include a pencil or pen to draw the image on, an xacto knife to cut the stamp down to size and to outline around the drawn image and linolium block carving tools to carve the block.  I start with the smallest tool and outline the image and move my way outward and use the larger size for the large blank areas.  Remember the image will be in reverse!  I once carved the word “celebrate” in a linoleum block only to realize half way through I didn’t reverse it, wow what a waste of time!

For the snow globes I cut circles a little smaller than my card base.  I am using a card that’s 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″, the globes are 3″ diameter.  These backgrounds are can be anything from a plain solid color to magazine images, scrap booking paper or photo’s of your family or pets (that would be cute!).  For the base I kept it simple and cut out brown rectangles about 2 1/4″, then I folded them gently in half and cut a small angle on the ends to give them a wider base.  Simple!  Glue down the globe pieces first, then the bases and your ready to add images, embellish etc.

Once you assemble the basic globe have fun embellishing them.  Here I used my snowman stamp, added some words to the base, some sequins and beads and little fuzzy balls for the buttons.  I’m also making some with embossed images, glitter and whatever else I can come up with.  Have fun and if you make some cards like this I’d love to see them, please let me know!

One Trackback to “Take Out Tuesday: Snow Globe Holiday Cards”

Leave a Reply

