Pause and reflect

by heatherkp

The chaotic frenzy and energy of the holiday season is just about here and I’ve been caught up in the flurry of it already.  I have had some wonderful moments to pause and enjoy the fall season.  These birds for example are always at this same intersection every year around this time and I just happened to notice them on this day with such a spectacular sky as a backdrop.

I also caught the tail end of this demonstration garden as it had been prepared for winter but still had a few blooms on a blustery fall day. 

And in my own garden I marveled at the abundance and simple beauty of the tomatillo harvest.  I was a little awestruck by the greens and purples and the skeletal shells and flower shape openings (that I assume allow for pollinators).  What an amazing little package these fruits come wrapped in.  I made several pints of tomatilla salsa with this bounty and can’t wait to open them up one winter day and savor the bounty of this years harvest.

Leave a Reply

