The definition of “Amateur”

by heatherkp

I got my most recent TOAST catalog and it had a brief definition of amateur that peaked my interest. Photo Courtesy of TOAST AW10iii house & home catalog

An amateur (French amateur “lover of”, from Old French and ultimately from Latin amatorem nom. amator, “lover”) is generally considered a person attached to a particular pursuit, study, or science, without pay and often without formal training.   The term, deriving from words for “lover”, reflects a voluntary motivation to work as a result of personal interest in the activity. As a value system, amateurism elevates things done with self-interest or for their own intrinsic value above those done for pay. (courtesy of wikipedia)

I love this reminder!  Okay, so I have to say that in a lot of respects I’d much rather be an AMATEUR at something and really love it than be a PROFESSIONAL and hate it.  I am an amateur at a lot of things and they are all things I love to do.  Among them, photography, gardening, cooking, sewing, weaving, knitting, painting, design and of all sorts of other creative pursuits.

I am often asked,  “are you a professional…” fill in the blank.  “I’m not a professional…” I say feeling as thought I have to defend my stance but now I think instead I’ll say “I’m a passionate Amateur and sure I can help you with that!”

When you hire someone, would you rather them be a passionate amateur or a uninspired professional?

One Comment to “The definition of “Amateur””

  1. Heather, I really enjoyed this post. Keep on being who you are and embrace all the things you love so much. Xoxo.

Leave a Reply

