Letting go of the old~Inviting in the new

by heatherkp

Perhaps because it is almost fall and this summer has gone by so incredibly fast, my mind is on de-cluttering, purging and making space for new things in life.  My husband and I spent the last week going from room to room gathering things that we no longer needed, loved or wanted.  On Saturday morning we headed out very early in order to go to a flea market and sell a bunch of junk that’s taking up too much space in our lives.  We had made a decision that whatever didn’t sell wasn’t coming back into the house either.  So at the end I was left with only a few boxes of items to donate.   The weather was so beautiful and this was our first time participating in a community flea market, in the past we would have just had a yard sale but I really enjoyed this alternative.  I’d say about the only drawback (if you want to call it that) is that you may be tempted, as I was, to bring something new (to you) home.  I got the two antique games below because I just love the charming images on them!  I also found a couple small hand stitched textiles (which I will share in another post).

Making room for “new” can mean a lot of different things but in my case I am not trying so much to make room for physical things as much as new ideas and inspiration.  Another area of my life that I am doing this is in the exploration of old design sketches and concepts I’ve completed to some degree over the last 10 years.  I am really enjoying bringing these designs beyond concepts and sketches and into fully rendered ideas.

I am hoping that moving through these past designs will help me to release them and move forward.  This is a concept I’ve heard from several different artists throughout my career and I truly do agree that you can not “hoard” your own ideas, they must be released in order for the new creative ideas to move through you.

3 Comments to “Letting go of the old~Inviting in the new”

  1. I love this. Let’s chat real soon. I say a collaborate of some sorts.

  2. I enjoy these posts Heather! Keep them coming. I like the new heading.

Leave a Reply

