Archive for April 20th, 2012

April 20, 2012

Friday Fieldtrip::Whispering Wings Fancy Flyers

by heatherkp

As a part of my ongoing training and overview for volunteering at Brookgreen gardens I got to visit the Whispering Wings Butterfly exhibit.  This is one of the areas I want to be trained to work in (along with the sculpture conservation department and horticulture).  There are literally hundreds of butterflies in the exhibit and some I’d never seen.  A few are native to coastal SC but most of these species are not and they have strict procedures for making sure there are no escape artists!

Monarch, Zebra Longwing, Polydamas Swallowtails, Pipevine Swallowtails, Spicebush Swallowtails, Julias, Buckeyes, Queens, Painted Lady, and American Lady are among other species you will see there if you visit.

This  Tiger striped butterfly was among my favorite and was my husband’s favorite (of my photos, he didn’t join me this time).

But my favorite had to be the malachite, I just love anything green!  This exhibit runs all spring and summer, check it out if you are in the area!

PS.  Did you know that this week was/is National Volunteer week?  Do you volunteer?